one week

I miss speaking to g. Things have been so busy for both of us, moreso for her so we've not had the chance to catch up on the phone. I just want to let her know how things are. It's been crazy.

I'm bracing myself for a video call with my husband's family. Basically they're figuring out their one week a year of holidays and they want to spend it together, but it's also our one week of holiday and I wanted to spend it not with them, so I said let's do it in the summer when the kids are off, not december when they want to do it, cos they just waste time (for me) not going anywhere, plus it's winter, where can the kids go then?

It's been like this for as long as we've been married and I've had enough. I told my husband, to basically, consider me. Choose me, this time. Stand up to his mother who is dictating everything, who has been doing so for as long as he's been alive. He's married, he already left them, his new priority is us.

My MIL told my mother that she couldn't come to the US holiday that MIL organised, back when I was pregnant with my second child. Made up some excuse. This once-a-year holiday really is an issue with her wanting to control things. Unfortunately for her, I also have control issues, and after being in therapy for a year I've realised that I need to take care of myself, listen to my own needs, and ask for those.

It's caused a major problem between myself and my husband because he obviously doesn't want to stand up to his mother, or for me, for fear of her getting upset. But I feel like he should just man up? I'm being a bit harsh here, but that's the crux of it for me. Choose my happiness, over hers. This time around.


2022-06-07.10:53 a.m.
<< | # ! ? | >>