north, part i

I am so relieved that we were able to go up north over the weekend. The four hour drive felt gruelling. We used to do many of these but because of the pandemic this was the first long one in years.

The weather was familiar, wet and windy. This was typical northern weather and I felt welcomed, like the city knew I was coming back. But we couldn't go hiking as planned. In the end we went out for lunch verging on countryside territory, where my ex works as a head chef (he and husband are obviously on good terms). I got to see him and we caught up for a bit. I'm happy to see that he is about to settle down. Who else can make him leave the fast lifestyle, but a girl? Hah. He was introduced to her by husband's colleague.

It had been months since I last saw G and she hugged me even tighter than in the summer, even though the time interval between our meeting this time around was shorter. I think she was genuinely happier to see me than before, because I am also happier.

She said that I looked well, which worried me. It was a complete turnaround from last November on videochat and she said my appearance concerned her. I tried to brush away my feelings around that and enjoyed our lunch. We went to her house for tea and chilled until late. She cut mine and daughter's hair, we talked. Husband had long, involved conversations with her son about life. The kids played with their cat.

I remember naming Forrest as a new baby kitten when I still lived with G. We had just finished watching the film and I suggested the name to her son, not expecting that he would indeed go for it. That cat is nearly a decade old now, fat and lazy.


2022-02-15.5:21 p.m.
<< | # ! ? | >>