DBT

Zoom therapy yesterday was fine, better than I expected. I may be able to get used to it, I mean if there came a point where we didn't have a choice anymore.

I am finally moving on from doing these daily food logs / real time live recording of my meals. That was e-CBT work and we're now focusing on DBT more, to help regulate my emotions. I can't do any PTSD therapy until I'm 'stable', so I think the DBT is meant to help with that. I definitely have a lot of maladaptive thinking and behaviours to correct.

I anticipate the DBT to take a long time. The CBT took six months, although that was compounded by depression, so it is a little hard to measure. However I don't think I will completely stop logging my meals and the times, I feel a little more secure when I record and it has become habitual now.

Plus I just printed out maybe 30 or 40 worksheets so I can't let those go to waste.

The DBT requires me to do more paperwork though. I need to log the unwanted behaviours (in my case, perhaps emotional outbursts or dysregulated moods and however those manifest) and then trace back to the triggers, writing about them in "excruciating detail".

I'm somewhat excited. And although I know that enthusiasm will fade, ultimately I'm happy I have made it to this next step. Husband made a small comment when I shared this little victory, but honestly in my heart I feel like I could cry for joy.


2022-02-01.10:55 a.m.
<< | # ! ? | >>