learning

You're much better when you're not depressed.
He said that to me and then we made love.

Towards the end of my conversation with grace, she said to give my husband a big hug. She does not know, that I know they have been speaking, and that it was him that prompted her to make time to call me.

I feigned ignorance and said, "Why?"

"Nothing, he obviously cares for you, he has been worried about you," then she added, "I bet."

I was curious to see if she would outright lie to a direct question. No judgment though. "Have you been talking?"

From her answer I sensed she was wary of agitating anything. "No. But he's trying isn't he. This is all new territory for him."


She is right. He has been so patient with me. I thought then, well he is going to get more than a big hug. He is going to get laid. And he has taken advantage of this pretty much every day since.

My sexuality is not something I have fully explored until fairly recently. My husband and I married not necessarily because we were sexually compatible but because we just had such a bond. We haven't always been in sync and there is still a lot of learning to be done, but I am glad we get to have these conversations now and can work towards constant improvement. I hope to be more candid, now that I know how rewarding that can be.

Slightly joking but he has grace to thank for this change in our relationship. Many months ago I came to her about some trauma related flashbacks and she basically just talked me through the importance of intimacy in marriage. I never had anyone to talk to about any of that- absent parents, extremely closed and sheltered upbringing. Relationships prior to my husband were closed off and detached and I was afraid of real, lasting connections.

I may talk about this further another time, but I have been awake for 3 hours now and just had this manic energy to finally write about what took place around that phone call. The kids have to be up in an hour.


2021-11-19.5:51 a.m.
<< | # ! ? | >>